Lando Norris wins 2016 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award

Double Formula Renault champion Lando Norris capped this year’s Autosport Awards in London by winning the 2016 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

Norris will receive a test in a McLaren Formula 1 car and a simulator role with the British team, as well as full BRDC membership and an Arai GP-6 RC carbon crash helmet.

The 17-year-old, world karting champion in 2013, has just completed his second year of single-seaters.

“I’ve been pretty nervous coming up to it,” said Norris.

“It’s been great, the racing success this year, but this has really topped it off.”

Norris started the season by winning the New Zealand-based Toyota Racing Series, held across January and February.

He then moved into a dual Formula Renault Eurocup and Northern European Cup campaign, winning 11 races across the two championships on his way to both titles.

Norris also won four of the 11 BRDC British Formula 3 races he contested this season.

He then made his FIA Formula 3 debut at the end of the year in the European Championship’s Hockenheim finale, before charging from 26th on the grid to 11th in the Macau Grand Prix.

Norris’s seasonal exploits earned him the British Club Driver of the Year gong at the Autosport Awards, and pitted him against BRDC British F3 team-mate Ricky Collard, Toby Sowery and Sennan Fielding for the main Award.

The quartet went head to head over two intensive days of assessments at Silverstone last month, featuring on-track tests on the Grand Prix circuit in Formula 2, Mercedes DTM and McLaren GT cars, plus simulator sessions and fitness tests conducted by McLaren.

“I need to give a lot of respect to the other drivers – Ricky, Sennan and Toby,” Norris added.

“I’ve raced against them for the past few years, we’ve given each other a lot of respect and they’ve made my life hard.”

The judging panel was led by former F1 driver, 1992 World Sportscar champion and BRDC president Derek Warwick, and also comprised two-time British Touring Car champion Jason Plato, McLaren’s Andrew Kirkaldy and Mark Williams, guest judge David Brabham, leading circuit commentator Ian Titchmarsh, Autosport Editor Kevin Turner and Autosport Features Editor Scott Mitchell.

Warwick was joined by Brabham, Turner and McLaren’s Eric Boullier to present Norris with the Award.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.